Ivan Gold

I am in Boston this weekend to say goodbye to an old friend. Here is the death notice, which appeared today in the Boston Globe

Ivan Gold
Of Boston, formerly of New York City on December 23, 2007, writer, teacher, and drunk, sober 31 years. Loving father of Ian Gold and his wife Maria Cisterna Gold of Dorchester. Doting grandfather of Gabriela Gold and Ruby Gold. A widower, was a devoted husband to Vera Gold. Survived by his sister, Judith Stitzel, of West Virginia. Sponsor and friend to many in AA. Family and friends are invited to a memorial service at the First Church in Boston, 66 Marlborough St., Boston, on Saturday, February 23rd at 1:00 p.m. Donations in his memory may be made to The Writers’ Room of Boston, 111 State Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02109.

here is an excerpt from an email I wrote tonight –

…We are snowed in. Ivan’s service is tomorrow at 1 pm in Boston. Should be able to get there. Don’t know what I’ll say yet. He loved me, made me feel okay, valued, esteemed. Made me feel loved. Opened his life and his family to me. Showed me how to live. How to do the right thing. What the right thing might be. How to examine my motives and to own up to doing the wrong thing. How to love a son. How to love a family, how to be part of one. How to want to be part of one. How to do the best one could with what one had. How to work and go on working. How to love and go on loving. How to suffer through heartache and keep going. How to start over with broken tools. What else is there to teach? What else is there to learn? He showed me that this was learning that would take a lifetime. And that if we died sober, died still trying to do the right thing, we won…

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, aa, art, awakening, callings, hope, Ian Gold, ivan gold, kids, light, love, recovery, stories, the art of recovery, the writing life, works in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ivan Gold

  1. alison says:

    My thoughts are with you –not in a trite, cliche way. See you when you return… Ali

    Like

  2. rick mobbs says:

    thanks, my friend.

    Like

  3. Theo says:

    so. here you are.

    i think i’ll browse here a bit.

    peace and comfort to you, now.

    Like

  4. rick mobbs says:

    Thanks Theo, and for the time you took to write last night’s email. I’ll be getting back to you.

    Like

  5. Tricia Gilpatric says:

    I was at the service on Sunday & heard you speak. Thanks for everything you said. I was a student of his for one semester last year. He was extraordinary & in a relatively short time your friend made a lasting impression on me.
    Peace,
    Tricia

    Like

  6. rick mobbs says:

    Thanks for the note, Tricia. I’m glad you were able to attend the service. He’ll be missed.

    Like

  7. annieepoetry says:

    Rick, here, in the lost of a friend I hear your voice. and here
    is where I cry.

    your paintings are crazy good. I keep looking at them and saying, wow, and wonderful, and oh what talent. They are little galaxies.

    Like

  8. rick mobbs says:

    Thank you, Annie Burie.

    Like

  9. janetleigh says:

    For me, I hear an incredible man in the words of your email. And your friend Ivan Gold sounds like one, too…:)

    Like

  10. Pingback: new arrivals, new arrangements « the storybook collaborative

  11. Rosalyn Drexler says:

    Knew Ivan before Ian was born. Vera and Ivan wanted a child very much. Sweet people. Last I saw them was at Elisbeth and Hal Scharlatt’s wedding at Rudy Wurlitzer’s house by a river. Many friends gone. The best, I think.

    Like

  12. R says:

    Thanks for your reflection on Ivan’s interesting life. My former stepfather was very close with Ivan and Vera and as a child and adolescent I spent many sumptuous evenings at their home with wonderful dinners, readings and discussion. I am sorry we’ve lost them both in the last four years.

    Like

Leave a comment