Hiroshi Sueyoshi and Jane on their swing through Santa Fe

I guess how to do this will come back to me as I write. And I need to write. First though, I am transferring my facebook post about Hiroshi and Jane’s visit over to this site. Because I know how to work with this one and I find facebook hectic, and when I want to think about things out loud I want a little quiet space to do it in. I do think I’ll start a new blog though. This is too cluttered, and I want to tell stories. Maybe over the weekend.

Here are the notes on Hiroshi’s visit.

I took these pictures of Hiroshi Sueyoshi’s hands today. He is holding a (as yet unidentified) black clay pot with a large center opening and a smaller opening at the top of the handle. A lamp? It is a Goodwill find I passed on to Hiroshi. Jane and Hiroshi are finishing the first leg of their Western Tour. It is a pleasure to see them again. Hiroshi was the first person I met on my first pass through Wilmington in 1978 when he was the Artist-in-Residence at CFCC. I was exploring the decommissioned WW2 floating torpedo repair factory the school was using for marine tech classrooms and I stumbled into his studio. I remember him as soft spoken and kind, a light in his eyes and the hint of a smile. I was in need of a friend at the time. The light is still there, so is the smile, so is the friend.

Hiroshi 2

Jane cajoled Ada, our 6 year old, to bring out her cello and play for us. Jane played first and knew all Ada’s tunes. It was a pleasure to see them together. Yesterday Broadus, Hiroshi, Jane and I went to brunch outside of Santa Fe at the San Marcos Feed Store and Cafe. Afterwards, in the Hardware store that is also part of the Feed Store and Cafe, Hiroshi bought horseshoes of various sizes, some brass hardware and a pair of spurs. Not silver, but very pretty.

Thanks to Jane Base, who emailed ahead to say they were coming. I hope to see Wilmington folks when we are back the last two weeks of July.

For those who do not know Hiroshi here are links to his website and to an article about him and his work.

http://www.hiroshisueyoshi.com/

http://www.wrightsvillebeachmagazine.com/article.asp…

Hiroshi, Jane and Ada

Ada plays for Jane and Hiroshi. Jane, who teaches violin and piano, knew all the songs.

Hiroshi Sueyoshi(Wrightsville Beach Magazine)

Scrolling through the “Likes”(on Facebook) I see so many familiar names and faces. I have missed North Carolina, Wilmington friends and the water in particular. We have been living in a parched landscape – beautiful in its way – at 7,000 feet above my comfort zone for the last 8 years. We have added two mountain girls to our family, Ada Corrina Meridian Swinton, 6.5 years old, and Calliope Roselma Pearl, age 2, – Swinton, I beieve, but maybe Swinton-Mobbs. I forget, but I think the girls have both our names, just the reverse order from Broadus Mobbs, 15.5 years. We are a trip at the border, sorting it all out. We bought a house in Santa Fe in the Fall of ’14 and moved most of us down from the UWC-USA campus. Naomi still works there and commutes down with Calliope. She will soon be wearing other hats there though and will live with us in SF. We found a waterfront property. We back up to an Acequia, remnants of the old Spanish irrigation system. The water still flows during snow runoff, heavy rains in the mountains, and during the Monsoon season in July and August.

The Acequia Madre – the “Mother Acequia” – is a few blocks west. It runs torrents when it runs, the Flash Floods we are warned against. Our acequia doesn’t run dangerously though. Up to the knee on me. Calliope can’t play on her own but Broadus and Ada can build dams and bridges and float sticks and leaves. Even unused now the acequias still create thin green lines overgrown with grasses and trees across the city. We are five minutes from the old Plaza but we are in a bird paradise, the trees muffle the sounds of the city, we have two goats in the yard (life used to be so hard, now everything is easy because of you). Broadus wants baby chicks. Next week we will go back to the San Marcos Feed Store and Cafe, and pick out the ones he likes. I’ll rent a rototiller and till an area back by the acequia. A gentleman farmer I am not, but the assignment to Half-way house garden in Dorchester Mass saved my life and sanity once and I would like to return to the serenity, creativity, and spell-bound awe of those days. My feelings about living in NM have turned 180 degrees since moving to Santa Fe.
This feels like home. Quiet, and the screen of Chinese Elms spreading like live oaks. We found a sprawling place that needs work. There is a casita – a little house – for those of you who would like to visit and bring tidings from the East Coast or points more or less distant. The house is in Casa Alegre, one of several unbelievably sweet neighborhoods built by a guy named Stamm in the 50’s and 60’s.The 70’s too, but we are in a house built in the 50’s. Small, by today’s standards. Especially considering the converted garage I set up as a makeshift studio has been taken over by the three younger creatives living here. I’ll have to build a studio in the backyard. In the meantime I’ll used the breezeway, the interconnected porches of the houses. I will be exiting the movie business soon and be back to making stuff, the thing that has always felt like my natural calling. Anybody out there know how to make a living from Art? Hiroshi’s visit has brought up a creative surge. Facebook is such an odd way to keep up with people but sometimes it does feel good. This is better for me though.
This entry was posted in a living treasure, Ada Swinton, art, awakening, Broadus Mobbs, cello, ceramics, friendship, getting the hell out of the movies, Hiroshi Sueyoshi, naomi swinton, writing to make sense of a life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hiroshi Sueyoshi and Jane on their swing through Santa Fe

  1. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Thanks, Rick, for fabulous Mobbs-Swinton catch-up posting. You have had Calliope since we have kept in touch. Man, 8 years up in the mountains; & now to join the Art community (which is quite extensive, I hear) in Sante Fe; maybe that will help you “make a living out of your Art”. Damn, Broadus is in HS already, almost old enough to drive. We will be driving through Sante Fe in July; really should have some face time. You will love my wife, Melva. My new email address is:
    glennbuttkus@gmail.com Drop me a line, & maybe we can actually hook up as we travel to, or from Texas to visit Melva’s folks.

    I retired in 2010, & I stay busy with ME-time, going on photography adventures (have 40,000 images now), being a custodian for my movie collection (30,000+), writing several epic poems a week, writing movie reviews for two blog sites, being a discussion leader for the only Art House cinema in Tacoma (the Grand), helping to run the Tacoma Film Club (now in its 12th year), & participating in spoken word open mic poetry slams here in Tacoma (I called “Tacoma’s Last Beat Poet). I have learned to use Garage Band & Sound Cloud, so I have done recitations of over 550 of my poems over the last couple of years. I know you used to enjoy reading my poetry, or having me write to one of painting prompts, & I loved your poetry too. In case you have misplaced my blogsite URL, for FEEL FREE TO READ, it is http://bibliosity.blogspot.com/2015/05/blackthorne-scene-thirty-eight.html Check it out if you have some time; listen to the old Actor recite his works; by the by, after 40 years I returned to the stage here in Sumner with a community theater; have done 4 plays now–should have seen me chewing up the scenery in TWELVE ANGRY MEN.

    If you start a new blog, make sure, on Facebook, or whatever, to post its location & title. We can leave private messages for each other on each other’s Facebook pages too. Are you on Twitter? Silly me, I promulgate my poetry on Facebook & Twitter. When I’m home, I spend several hours a day on Facebook, searching for & sharing images I like (paintings, graphics comic book art, landscapes, movie trivia, & nostalgia, etc) I seem to hit the FB image limit (98) every day.

    So, bikg man, let’s shake the cobwebs out of our craniums, & useless crap out of our britches, & re-establish our relationship/communication. One of the exciting things I am working on is a new form of poetry. I call it “Cinemagenic”. I wrote an existential Western 45 years ago (still unpublished), so now I am rewriting it as “poetry” , one episode at a time. It is like a dynamic poetic screenplay prose poem in which I decide on everything you will see & hear in “my movie”. I think you might dig it.

    Like

  2. rick mobbs says:

    Glenn, I wrote you but sent email to old address. Will send it again. Would love to see you in Santa Fe

    Like

  3. I agree with you, Rick. Facebook is too frantic, fast paced, it misses a lot that we, older and slower folk always take time for. There are bits, little bits that are stuck to the fabric, that need to be attended to. They are stuck there for good reason. To reward those who don’t move so quickly.

    I recall our very first sighting of each other, Rick. It was golden. We established our everlasting relationship in those moments of introduction. Since then I have come to realize how golden you have always been in my life. Loose, rewarding, consistent, dependable. I love you, Rick. Always have and I always will. Peace out, man.
    g

    Like

Leave a comment