Ann Bunting-Mock

AANN BUNTING-MOCK    
Aann Bunting-Mock died January 3, 2008, from cancer. She was 57 years old.
Aann leaves behind the loves of her life — her family members: Bruce, her beloved; all of her wonderful children — Logan Mock-Bunting, Susan Mock, Bruce and Paola Mock, Hadley and Walter Heath, Sarah and Josh Van Der Puy; her grandchildren Bruce III, Walter V and Jarrett Eavey; her stepmother Anne C. Bunting and her special former son-in-law Greg Eavey. Her mother, Ann Beachy Bunting, father, Robert Logan Bunting, and sister, Susan Bunting Cairns, preceded her in death.
Along with her immediate family, she leaves behind an extended family filled with wonderful cousins, nieces, nephews, great-nieces, great-nephews, and friends, all of whom were the reason she believed in goodness. Aann’s belief in God resulted from her awareness of the order and magnificence in nature and the blessing of experiencing so much love in her life.
The gift of sobriety formed her vision of the world and inspired her to lead a good and decent life, even if she was not always able to achieve such a lofty goal. This way of life was demonstrated clearly by her sponsor, Mary K. Because family, friends, acquaintances and strangers came and went in her life, helping her try to become a better person, she wanted to express her gratitude for being touched by so many wonderful people. As Charlotte explains in E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web:
You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that. Aann loved her dog and enjoyed books, travel, intimate conversation, fabric, and electronic toys.
Aann wanted to thank God for her life, repeatedly stating that she would not have traded her life for anyone else’s. She was the “wealthiest woman” she knew and wanted to remind people: “It is not how many breaths one takes, but the moments that take your breath away. Life is for the living. Live and let live.”
A memorial service will be held at the Fort Fisher Aquarium on Sunday, Jan. 6, 2008, at 6 o’clock in the evening.
Memorials may be made to Lower Cape Fear Hospice, 2222 S. 17th St., Wilmington, NC 28401.
Published in the Star-News on 1/4/2008.
This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, aa, aan, ann bunting-mock, art, callings, love, quilting, recovery, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ann Bunting-Mock

  1. Bridget says:

    Never having met ann I feel I know her spirit, through my friend who she helped some years ago. Ann is part of her story and ann’s wisdom, joy and love ,live on through my friend. I know many who have gone before her and know she will be welcomed with open arms, as she welcomed many in her time. Safe comming home Ann, love in fellowship Bridget UK.

    Like

  2. sleepinghill says:

    Bridget, I heard that 500 people came to the service that was held for her at the Fort Fisher Aquarium, and that friends brought many, many of the quilts she had made and given away to friends over the years. I am sure she touched even more lives than those and her spirit lives on. I feel blessed and privileged to have know her. Thanks for your note.

    Like

  3. Jeanne Scheerbaum says:

    May, 2012
    I just read a wonderful article by Ann Bunting-Mock in American Quilter magazine, January 2008. Just want you, whomever you are, to know that she still is helping people with her ideas, words, and quilts, I am sure. It went on to explain that she began making anonymous women’s quilts from old quilt tops, rearranging, combining, repairing and finishing them, along with a ‘letter’ hidden, explaining who she was as a woman, but evidently without name.
    What a marvelous way to continue ones legacy and belief in the “kind, character-building small acts such as picking up some trash, giving money to a charity drop-box, allowing someone to make a mistake or be unpleasant without getting angry….. . I find that taking myself out of the picture begins to shift something in my life and connects me to a great anonymous river of positive emotion. The unexpected benefit of allowing and nurturing myself to embrace a bit of anonymity connects me uniquely to the world.”
    Sounds like a special, giving and gentle woman to me. And she is swimming in that ‘great anonymous river of positive emotion’, a wonderful place to be, swimming in the good. Quite a good and gentle woman! Glad this site is still here.

    Like

  4. rick mobbs says:

    Dear Jeannie, I hope these words find you. If so please email me rickmobbs@gmail.com and I will send you some pictures of the quilts Ann made for us.

    Like

  5. Pingback: ann, again | mine enemy grows older

  6. Meredith says:

    I just got a book in the mail (The Techniques of Indian Embroidery) that had, tucked within it, a receipt of sale (that included several other books on quilting and embroidery) dated June 2000, addressed to Ann Bunting-Mock in Wilmington, NC.

    I turn to google for pretty much every fleeting curiosity, which is how I found this page. She sounds like she was a remarkable woman, and I feel fortunate to be in possession of a book of hers.

    Like

Leave a comment