a light dark poem – a rewrite

Sweet sweet engine of mercy,
bright flying speck in the sun,
tomorrow I’ll be riding a donkey,
tomorrow I’ll be on my way home.

We will go to the invisible carnival.
We will ride the invisible rides.
We will not stand in line
we will have a great time
as we flash our bright wings in the sun.

I will buy you lavender ice cream
I will throw the poor doggie a bone
you will shoot out the eyes of the targets
and win us a free ticket home.

Sweet sweet engine of mercy,
bright flying speck in the sun,
tomorrow I’ll be riding a donkey,
tomorrow I’ll be on my way home.

But, what if some darkthing I see?
And what if it whispers my name?
And if the darkling should take me?
So seeing you never shall be?
Well, then the gathering light,
the gathering light,
the gathering light
shall have me…

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, art, awakening, callings, faith, love, lullabies, my theology, poetry, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a light dark poem – a rewrite

  1. Ali says:

    I loved this Rick.

    Like

  2. johemmant says:

    Great opening, very strong, a little surreal. And I love the expression the gathering light (and it’s also the title of one of my favourite books by Jennifer Donnelly), it is a very vivid visual which is particularly apt in this piece, just as the word darkling is very well chosen. Yes a great poem, from lavender icecream to despair. (Oh I responded to the mesmerised thing, and I hope I made myself clearer this time (grin) ……it’s easier in comments than poems sometimes! ) Good to have you back!

    Like

  3. rick mobbs says:

    Thanks jo, and you too, ali. I’m glad you liked it.

    Like

  4. janetleigh says:

    This is great, Rick – I especially like the last 4 killer lines..:)

    Like

  5. rick mobbs says:

    thanks, janetleigh, and also for your thoughts on my friend ivan…

    Like

  6. Pingback: new arrivals, new arrangements « the storybook collaborative

  7. christine says:

    I love how the narrator will embrace the light in the end, if that’s the only choice left. The repetitions give the poem a subtle song-like effect, great to read aloud. The rhymes, too are very lightly touched, but regular enough to satisfy.

    Like

  8. florissa says:

    hallo to all i like this poem its so wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment