image prompts

Nanda Sosa just emailed me the pictures below, which are of paintings hanging on the walls of her home in Caracas. I had forgotten them. Which means it has been too long since I visited that beautiful, amazing, troubled country and and enjoyed her beautiful, amazing people. Let’s hope sane leadership emerges soon.

Working on a year-long string of films took me into the magic but grueling land of below-the-line movie making, interrupting the flow of weekly prompts I had been posting here. I’m still not back in the studio so I won’t be posting images regularly until I am. But if anyone sees a story here and wants post a link to it in the comments section below, well, feel free. Maybe it will get the motor turning over again.

For samples of what others have done, click on the Storybook Collaborative link and scroll down.

totem2

Balancing Act, latex house paint and charcoal, approx 6′ x 4′, Courtesy of Maria Fernanda Sosa.

totem1

I have forgotten what I named this. Mixed media on bleed (reverse) of printed English linen. I wish I could find more. Approx. 3′ x 4′. Collection of Maria Fernanda Sosa.

This entry was posted in art, below the line, ekphrasis, image prompts, maria fernanda sosa, painting, storybook collaborative, Venezuela, work in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to image prompts

  1. marlowe44 says:

    Rickster, and challenger this morning. Your second image really grabbed my attention. When I saved the image, the title you gave it was “totem1”. I did manage to write a little something, titled BELOVED DOMINION, and it is posted over on my site at:
    http://bibliosity.blogspot.com/2009/08/beloved-dominion.html
    It is wonderful to view some of your earlier work, and what a lucky person Maria is to have a couple of your paintings hanging in her home. Hope my effort starts the whole process of the storybook collaborative to kick into gear again. Hugs.
    Glenn

    Like

  2. Jo says:

    Beautiful paintings as always. How you doing? I’m hoping the next twelve days go very slowly, for then the boys are back to school 😦 and the madness begins again. I’ll mail you.

    Like

  3. rick mobbs says:

    That madness started last week for us. The rest of the madness just continues. Look forward to hearing from you.

    Like

  4. nandasosa says:

    Hi Rick! Call me, or connect to skype so we can talk.
    Glenn, I have my own Rick Mobbs museum, I’ll send more photos.

    Like

  5. pieceofpie says:

    hello rick, haven’t been around in awhile… always enjoy your stories and creations… these are great!!! the second reminds me of chagall…

    Like

Leave a Reply

