catching up

Anyone following battlestar galactica? I’m way behind. I’m catching up on my motel cable tonight though. I came down here to Carrizozo NM to paint a fork in the road in the desert black, with biodegrable paint.

carrizozo-1-of-1 carrizozo-1-of-1-2

carrizozo-1-of-1-3 carrizozo-1-of-1-4

It will degrade, if it ever rains. Spent the rest of the week on the Carrizozo sets. Great crew. Shooting starts tomorrow. Final touches in the morning then I’m out of this lovely little town. I’ll come back with the family and explore. They will love the wind, the mountains, the mining towns and the desert.

I appreciate all the notes left on the blog (and on facebook) while I have been on this show. I look forward to responding to all of them.

Later, skaters.

Rick

This entry was posted in film work, paint dept., scenic art, the book of eli, works in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to catching up

  1. openhand says:

    Be well, brother, and travel safely.

    I’m partial to Firefly and Serenity, haven’t seen the new galactica–some day I’ll just watch them all in a row.

    Like

  2. What you do, and contribute to films, part of the art design, is reallyi essential to its success, although you get much less limelight than say the cinematographer or musical composer. It is great in this day of the never ending CGI that you are still kept as busy as an artist. I watched the new Battlestar during its first season, and it did not grab me. But folks are raving about it this last few seasons. Eddie Olmos is a terrific actor.
    I was just thinking this morning that I write a lot less poetry when I do not have one of your paintings to inspire me.

    Glenn

    Like

  3. amuirin says:

    I’ve been following Galactica, but that doesn’t mean I’m following galactica, if you know what I mean.

    nutty stuff on that show. as always. I loved the picture of Ada up above.

    Like

  4. rick mobbs says:

    openhand, I’m home. It is good. Thanks.

    Hi Glenn, we all do our parts, and the work buys the shoes for the babies. Lots of shoes for they little feet. I think there have been around 120 painters, carpenters, prop-makers, scenic artists, welders, plasterers, sculptors and foam carvers working on these sets. Impressive talent, and most all from New Mexico.

    I spent some time in my own studio today…

    amuirin, thanks for checking in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

