lunchbreak!

I miss the circulating I was doing up until the time I took this movie. Not much time for blogging now, with the arrival of little baby wonderful, and work. Spent the day aging and generally messing up a meth lab (a movie set). What do I know about meth labs? Not much, but with references and some imagination I can muck one up. Oh, the glamorous life of the movie painter. I come home spattered and speckled. The movie has been a blessing that came up out of nowhere, even if it does have me falling asleep at night in my clothes. Ada has something to do with that, too.

Ada, by the way, is wonderful. Ten days old now, stronger every day. Good strong lungs and she’s not shy about letting us know when she needs some attention. She sleeps a lot, nurses, sleeps, poops, looks over my shoulder into the world she just left, sometimes seems to nod at friends there. She’s beginning to focus with that odd, musing, gathering look that new babies have.

Here are a couple of pictures I took last night with the laptop.

So…. not much time now for anything except home life and work. I look forward to visit everybody’s blogs and reading your poetry and writing again sometime soon. In the meantime, here is a link to Cristine’s writing on ekphrasis poetry.

(It feels a little weird to be putting this personal stuff out there but… it also feels natural. Weird, huh? I guess it makes sense, with family and friends checking in here, and blogging friends, too. Thanks for all the love. Peter Tavernese, el senor openhand, I’m going to post your poem here later, too. Gotta do it.)

Now it’s back to work!

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, ada corinna, art, ekphrasis, film work, home birth, lullabies, mariacristinapoesia, painting, poetry, scenic artist, works in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to lunchbreak!

  1. Fernanda says:

    She is so beatiful! Thanks for sharing. A big hug for the four of you.

    Like

  2. Nochipa says:

    Rick,

    Ada is so beautiful!!! I love the mind image of you coming home splattered with paint. And, I think it is fantastic that you are a movie painter.

    Nochipa

    Like

  3. johemmant says:

    What lovely, lovely photos, she is an absolutely beautiful baby and you look like such a great dad……I love the second one, especially. I don’t know how you keep going, you must be shattered. Say hi to Naomi for me, I hope she’s well.

    Like

  4. ozymandiaz says:

    Ah, the most beautiful work of all.
    Jeez, I go away for awhile (well, not away per se…) and I come back to find you all babyfied.
    Belated and future congratulations.

    Like

  5. ozymandiaz says:

    OK, I know these aren’t image prompts, but of all your works, here I find the most inspiring (even if my words fall short)

    New Eyes

    Enamored with the changing landscape
    Bright and flashy things
    Fingers and toes and nose and ears
    (oh, and lungs)
    Finding out about this world
    The beauty of a soul
    Born of love
    Held just so

    Find now the wonder in this
    This is the most free
    She will ever be

    Like

  6. marlowe44 says:

    The second pic is wonderful. The look in Ada’s eyes is way beyond 10 days of consciousness. I love your reference to the fact that babies in their first few weeks are still connected to the “other” dimension, they still know the truth of things, still remember making the choice of their parents, their spiritual identity, their color and space in the eye of godhead. Yes, as Ozy so eloquently put it, “This is the most free/she will ever be”. She will learn soon enough that it is her first job to put into position the veil of forgetfulness, and to start out with a clean slate. But those eyes! They tell us she is an old soul, that she will be an earth shaker, that she will retain sparks and smidgins of the truth of things, that she will not just be a blinking bimbo; on no, she will be the daughter of an artist, and perhaps an artist herself. What a lucky father you are with your Fourth of July girl, and what a lucky daughter she is for chosing to grow up with you and Naomi and Broadus.

    Glenn

    Like

  7. nande says:

    Such beautiful pics. You seem so satisfied – both of you.

    I am very happy for you.

    N

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    I love her! (oh ya and you guys too). Sounds like things are going well and you are living in that new baby dimension somewhere between asleep and awake. All my love

    Heather

    Like

  9. amuirin says:

    She is so very very cute.

    Like

  10. Arkay says:

    Wow, what a cutie! and the one without the glasses has something going on too 😉 (JK)

    Man, you are so lucky to have such a beautiful life join in with your wonderful family. You all have been so blessed with each other. (I’m too happy for you to be jealous even)

    Like

  11. lirone says:

    Seeing these photos has moved me to write the companion poem to “waiting” that I promised some time ago. Now that you and my friend have both produced small people into the world, I thought it was worth spending a little time reflecting on the miracle of the human ability to create! Here it is: now

    Like

  12. Pingback: Now « Words that sing

  13. Angry Ballerina says:

    I normally think infants are the fugliest things on the fact of the planet, but seriously dude, you have a stunning little girl.
    You’re gonna be so fucked when she hits her teens it’s not even funny. I think you may need to invest in a baseball bat.

    Like

  14. christine says:

    She’s a seashell of a babe. Enjoy! I can tell you are. Love all the photos, especially the one where you and Naomi hold hands across your children. My eyes teared up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

