johemmant’s story (florescence) a collaboration

This post is a collaborative effort. Johemmant, author of floresence, wrote the wonderfully evocative story accompanying the painting below. Please visit her blog to read many more wonderful and beautiful things.

h

johemmant’s story (florescence) - standing in the shadows

(jo’s story)

We were resting after a long day in the fields when the children came running, shouting excitedly of angels and unicorns. We would have thought it a game and sent them away but an elder pointed to the sky silver with cloud and told us to listen to the wind in its lament. We rose then and followed their raggletaggle to the edge of the village where the salt flats begin. And the children were right, these were not figments but the archetypes of our dreams.

I stand at the edge,
a myth sheltering under
my outstretched wings,

their eyes hostile
holding us here though

I have been amongst them
every day, a shifting

shadow, a soft breath
on a tired cheek.

But I see my mistake.
Men do not want proof,

they would rather
have faith.
d
My brother and I are the fastest runners and arrive first, laughing but I look over my shoulder and see my father’s face, know at once that he is afraid. I reach for my brother’s hand and draw back.

This entry was posted in angels, art, collaboration, dreamtime, ecphrasis poetry, florescence, jo, johemment, myths, painting, poetry, standing in the shadows, stories, the writing life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to johemmant’s story (florescence) a collaboration

  1. janetleigh says:

    Johemment’s words and your gorgeous painting blend together perfectly, Rick. Both imbue beauty on their own, but merge into a larger panoply of images and imaginings. Wonderful! Kudos, and a cartwheel to you both..:)

    Like

  2. rick mobbs says:

    Thanks for the cartwheel, janetleigh. Funny thing is, I am jut returning from leaving notes on your blog. Nice synchronicity.

    Like

  3. janetleigh says:

    You’re kidding, right?! Ha! As they say – ‘great minds’ and all that jazz. But I love synchronicity. Sometimes with a little ESP thrown in for interest..:)

    Like

  4. Paul says:

    Holey mackeral, I read the story and saw the painting seperately and here they are together, they are bnoth wonderful, but I am cofused as to my present location, haha, rage on,

    Like

  5. ozymandiaz says:

    I didn’t see the unicorne until she said unicorn and now I see unicorn. Damn, missed that. The best art is often that way, is it not? Evertime you look at it something different. Jo’s strory drew well from the colors presented. I like very much. Very foreboding.

    Like

  6. rick mobbs says:

    Heck, Oz, I didn’t see the unicorn either. She hit it right on. Your poem is of a different ilk but also draws well from the images and colors and to me the the two are kindred spirits with, as I said on another page, kindred admonitions. Here is the link to our collaborative effort.

    Like

  7. Childlife says:

    Hi Rick ~ I saw your note at my place and realized I never finished my comment over here (I live a bit of a distracted life – LOL! Sorry…)

    Jo’s poem was my first glimpse of your work, and it’s just lovely! I particularly liked this painting. I said this over at Jo’s place, but looking at this painting was like an instant childhood flashback to hours spent curled up reading L’Engle (most likely due to the winged unicorn). I love the dream-like colors and textures you chose… perfect for this painting. Puts that little question in your mind of ‘did I really see what I thought I saw, or did I merely imagine it?’ Beautiful!

    Like

  8. rick mobbs says:

    childlife, I am glad the painting could speak to you in that way. And I am a fan of L’Engle, too… I sometimes think I am just recasting the stories I soaked up as a child…

    Like

Leave a Reply

