a picture for the moment – standing in the shadows

something for this rainy day. would anyone like to make up a story?

something for this rainy day

This entry was posted in art, bleak hope, blues, faith, healing, hope, light dark, love, medium, oil painting, poetry, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a picture for the moment – standing in the shadows

  1. johemmant says:

    Oh me, me, what a great idea. I’ll have to do it over the next two days though, if that’s okay, weekends mean little writing time for me……then I’ll link back to the painting….which is another absolute beauty.

    Like

  2. rick mobbs says:

    you’re on jo. take it at your own pace, the picture will be here.

    Like

  3. johemmant says:

    Okay, I posted something, it was a very strange experience, actually, I’ve written about paintings before and had this happen…..a sort of change in my usual voice. Anyways, thanks this was great fun πŸ™‚ and I love the painting so much, beautiful.

    Like

  4. rick mobbs says:

    wow, jo, i love it. i am amazed at the warmth you were able to find in such a cool painting.

    jo has written a really interesting, evocative piece to accompany the painting above. i would link to it if i only knew how. (advice and instruction welcome) in the meantime clicking on the comment above should take you there.

    once there, i highly recommend staying a while. i think you will enjoy the visit.

    Like

  5. Paul says:

    Wonderful painting and Jo definitely captured the spirit of it her story too, cool collaboration inspiracy,

    Like

  6. enigma says:

    fantastic painting, it reminds me of some of the art they used to hang in the roman ruins in croatia, i,m off to read Jos painting channelling.

    Like

  7. ozymandiaz says:

    OK, I wrote this before I read Jo’s work as I really like the painting and it inspired something and if I had read Jo’s stuff first I would have seen how bad mine was and wouldn’t share it so here it is

    Neath the ashen sky
    Her spirit strong and true
    Some saw but a mare
    But the wisest knew
    The painted dessert soul
    Watching o’er this land
    Known well as the wind
    Known well as the sand
    Presents herself this day
    To run and to fly
    In form seldom seen
    Neath the ashen sky

    Like

  8. rick mobbs says:

    Oz, I like this. If it is okay with you I will post it with the painting, with a link to it here. To me, you and Jo saw similar spirits, wrestled down similar beasts. Maybe I’m reading it in but I see encased in the lines of each poem are similar admonitions to please, pay attention, people.

    Like

  9. johemmant says:

    Oh Ozy, I love yours (actually I prefer it to mine, those two lines ‘known well as the wind, known well as the sand’ are wonderful, and the whole idea of it is just beautiful (and yes we were thinking of similar lines)). Yes, Rick, pay attention it seems to be πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

