notes upon the windowsill

well, nobody asked, but I’ll try to explain it anyway, if only for myself. I can’t remember if the post below – She sits upon a windowsill – started as a journal fragment or as a line that jumped into my head and I decided to see where it would take me. Something starts as an impulse to write or an image to describe, grows into a collection of lines or sentences, tries to become a poem, maybe becomes a poem. Sometimes the poems start to bulge and buckle and I’ve got the beginning of an epic poem on my hands.

So okay, I go with that and it goes along until I realize that I’m never going to read a 27 page poem and there is no reason to expect anyone else to. So I try to recast it into something else, maybe like this dense little wonder. And sometimes works and sometimes it doesn’t. It also sometimes twists into something darker.

And it goes until it seems like maybe I am working on a short story, or a chapter of a book. Both way beyond what I can manage at this point so here is where I duck back into painting. This particular effort seems to want the chopping block… any feedback sincerely appreciated…

This entry was posted in art, callings, faith, journal, light, light dark, love, lucid dreaming, poetry, recovery, stories, the writing life, wake up dude, works in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to notes upon the windowsill

  1. amuirin says:

    I haven’t read many of your words yet, there was a piece three pages back that caught me, and there’s a certain magic to your words. Maybe it’s a simple matter of something shiny catching my attention more vividly, but the paintings are so magical. They are, it’s probably very foolish to jump on a first impression and say, ‘THis one, is my favorite!’ but your art is so delighting..

    I gush.

    Like

  2. johemmant says:

    What’s weird about you writing this now is that I saw you’d visited me today and it set off a whole train of thought in my head about people who are good at two things……how do you decide whether you want to write it or paint it? I can only write, can do nothing else well at all, have no way to express any creativity I might have so I just do that. If you have a story to tell which takes priority, painting or writing? Or does it change? Sorry, what a nosy person I am GRIN.

    Like

  3. Prester John says:

    If a picture is worth a thousand words then a paintings must be worth 10,000.

    I’ll have to read more of your blog to know what you’re really getting at.

    Peace.

    Like

  4. Marianne says:

    I adored this little glimpse into your process. It meanders beautifully like your writing. You make it all seem so effortless.

    Like

  5. rick mobbs says:

    amuirin, you make me want to paint. oh, and i’m a magpie at heart.

    jo, I rather think it very likely you are good at many things. For starters, I see the easy way you have with so many people, and your graceful interest in them as a great gift (and a rare one!) That, and your writing, make you amazing. There is more to life than leaving a trail of beautiful things. And you leave a trail of beautiful things! I am glad I have discovered this place we have to share thoughts and creations. I think we are all engaged in the work of becoming and suspect that what happens here is an encouraging part of that. I could go on and on.

    As to deciding whether to write or paint – the one or the other is often, to tell the truth a kind of active procrastination or avoidance of other things i feel i should be doing. Like, I actually have a writing project I am supposed to be working on now. I want to do anything but that.

    I usually find the story under my hands as I work. I start with some scratchmarks and hope Creation will supply the images and stories. I have come to trust that it will. I just try to catch the rhythm. I don’t always know what I am writing or painting about, except the mystery of it all. Thanks for being such a nosy person.

    Prester John, please let me know if you find out what I am getting at!

    Marianne, always lovely to hear from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

