overpainting

or, how to ruin a perfectly good painting? I am better about knowing when to stop but still sometimes overpaint one. This is one I liked very much as a charcoal and acrylic sketch. Here are some pics of the work in progress. My new friend, Luigina Ware, posts her work in progress, an idea I like so I’ll try it here. I like the energy and enigma of my original sketch, which I lost as I proceeded. I also removed work lines which were better life alone. I think I’ll put it away for awhile, let it rest and come back to it later. The problem is, they call, and it’s hard to ignore the call. Like this blog calls.

…in the beginning

wip1_2.jpg

I am beginning to torture the painting on the left

11-07-17.jpg

close-up

ruin.jpg

of a beautiful ruin…

which is turning into an interesting piece. I just hate taking one too far and not being able to get back to that thing I liked in the first place. But, nothing ventured, nothing gained. It comes with the territory. Sometimes we push them too far.

ruination-31.jpg

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, art, callings, dreamtime, light, love, overpainting, poetry, stories, wake up dude. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to overpainting

  1. Caryn says:

    The same can happen with writing. After a certain point, you can just edit the life out of the thing and it’s best to just call it done.

    I still think the paintings all look great, though. But I’m in awe of anyone who can create visual art.

    Like

  2. sleepinghill says:

    Thanks, Caryn. As I’m looking at it now I am liking the painting at its current stopping point. I think I’ll leave it be. (And quit comparing it to what was there before!) I’m in awe of anyone who can weave a thread through a novel. I’ve added you to my blogroll. Please visit again.

    Like

  3. ozymandiaz says:

    I’m in awe of anyone who can pat their head while rubbing their tummy…
    anyhow
    I always had the feeling that any canvas with the missfortune of having me put a brush to it was tortured right from the get go so anything after that never garnered much sympathy.
    If what you say is true and you torture your artwork then you are like the friggin’ SS in that you have made an art form of
    ummmmm
    well, art.
    OK, that made little to no sense at all but there I am.

    Like

  4. sleepinghill says:

    Makes sense to me, Oz. Just keep writing. Your stuff amazes me.

    Like

  5. annieepoetry says:

    love your paintings Rick

    Like

  6. rick mobbs says:

    thanks Annie, and I’ll be back to check your work out again soon. I know you’re writing. I’m just getting back home to NM.

    Like

  7. xpalla says:

    Rick
    This painting caught my eye in the first picture. I was trying to enlarge it . Keep playing with . I love it

    Like

  8. rick mobbs says:

    thanks, xpalla. great name. would love to hear back from you.

    Like

  9. rick mobbs says:

    xpalla, do you have a website or blog, (or email)? you have snagged my curiosity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

