completed work/works in process

young beethoven

A recently completed portrait of Beethoven as a young man. The painting was commissioned by Ron Maltais, the Music Director here at UWC-USA, in exchange for piano lessons for my son, Broadus. I worked from a photo of an old oil painting Ron gave me as a reference. The image I produced felt too stark but when I aged and sanded the canvas it fell into place.

war toys


These figures are part of a work in progress I cut from 1/8″ steel yesterday. The images are based on children’s drawings for war-torn countries. Pictures of similar completed works are posted on rickmobbs.com.

Once a week Chris Thompson , in Ribera, NM, makes his blacksmithing shop available to the UWC-USA students and John Geffroy and I are lucky enough to be able to work with them. Next week I’ll take some photos of the shop and post them here.

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, art, beethoven, blacksmithing, callings, chris thompson ironworks, poetry, portraits, ron maltais, steel sculpture, uwc-usa, war toys, works in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to completed work/works in process

  1. Keith G says:

    Hi Rick, I don’t know if you realize that the pictures are not loading? I really like(d) ann’s calf, and some of the poetry. Keep producing. 🙂

    Like

  2. rick mobbs says:

    Hi Keith,

    thanks for the heads up. I don’t know why they might not be loading. I’ll check it out from another computer. I’ll come check out your site when I do. Thanks again. Best wishes. Rick

    Like

Leave a Reply

