She came, she bathed, I asked,

stupid war

She came, she bathed, I asked, “Are you an augury of love? Or love itself?”

At that she laughed, she made a splash. Downstairs a door was cracked  and in the sudden draft I saw the legions tramp across her back.

Under glint-eyed standards each man drew and poised to hack with brittle swords or spears or axes flesh sweet and tender, made for kisses, slow hands, trickled water – not for mindless harm, stupid excess.

With that I cupped my hand and swept the scene away. I drowned the legions, all the colors, standards, pikes and horses. Again she laughed.

She said, “I cannot tell the future dear, nor predict it from your fits. Am I an augury of love? Or love itself? Who knows?

Accept the present, dear,
And dear, accept the gift.”

This entry was posted in art, light, love, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She came, she bathed, I asked,

  1. johemmant says:

    Superb,s ee this is what happens when you dig deep…….I think you need to start writing some more, Mr M. And I figured it out…..more by mail 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

