soup-kitchen witch (today’s poem is a painting)

soup-kitchen witch

This entry was posted in 'tis a gift to be simple, aa, art, fun stuff, light, love, poetry, portraits, soup kitchen witch. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to soup-kitchen witch (today’s poem is a painting)

  1. Marianne says:

    Oh, I like this. Such a friendly witch. I’m torn — do I trust her?

  2. sleepinghill says:

    If that is a serving of light she’s offering then I think you can trust her.

    Ummm. I’m down with the flu. My son just surrounded me with stuffed animals on the way out the door with his skateboard. I have a big, green chameleon on my head as I write. I’m feeling better already. Thanks for checking in.

  3. really nice one and keep it up!

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

  4. Caryn says:

    I love this picture. The subject looks so warm and huggable, like someone I would like to spend a lot of time with. The whole thing is just so inviting.

  5. sleepinghill says:

    Thank you, Caryn. Several people modeled for this painting: the hands and forearms are mine, those are my dad’s eyes looking back at you (dreamy-wonder-man), the lopsided smile and the idea for uplighting came from Rubens. My friend Tif graciously experimented with holding pan and spoon at different angles.

  6. Caryn says:

    Thanks for the background, sleepinghill! I love to read the story behind a piece of art, whether it’s a painting, poem, or whatever. This is a really great painting!

  7. Great painting, feels warm and friendly to me :)

Leave a Reply

